Spread the love

The common wealth scholarship is offered by Commission in the United Kingdom (CSC), their primary objective is aimed at talented post graduate study and professional development among common wealth countries.

Especially for citizens of low and middle income, this scholarship grant help cover the tuition and other basic education needs.

The CSC boast of a swelling 800 award programs covering diverse fields of studies. These programs are aimed at improving the UK’s international development agenda among member states.

Millions of students across the common wealth states have realized their dream through this program and you could be the next benefactor.

Here are some important things you need to know before applying;

Types of Common Wealth Scholarships

Now, there are different types of programs for different postgraduate levels of study, they comprise of;

  • Shared Scholarships
  • Distance Learning Scholarships
  • Rutherford Fellowships
  • Medical Fellowships
  • Master’s Scholarships
  • PhD Scholarships (for least developed countries and fragile states)
  • Commonwealth Split-site Scholarships (for low and middle income countries)

All the listed scholarship types are awarded based on these themes;

Science and technology for development
Strengthening health systems and capacity
Promoting global prosperity
Strengthening global peace, security and governance
Strengthening resilience and response to crises
Access, inclusion and opportunity

Shared Scholarships

The shared scholarship is funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), the goal is to help applicants gain immense knowledge and sustainable development of students that would have been unable to study in the UK. click the link for more information on the shared scholarships

Distance Learning Scholarships

The distance learning scholarship is for postgraduates who want to accrue knowledge from other fields which would have been inaccessible in their country, but wish to remain in their country while they learn professional courses. click the link for more on the distance learning scholarships

Rutherford Fellowships

Commonwealth Rutherford Fellowships are for professionals who have gained a level of expertise in skilled research. The candidates from the common wealth nation will study for a one or two at an eligible UK university or at a higher institution conducting postdoctoral research.

Medical Fellowships

Commonwealth Medical Fellowships are for medical staffs that have gained considerable knowledge in their field, who need to further their clinical skills.

Master’s Scholarships

The commonwealth masters scholarship is for post graduate candidates that wish to further acquire a master’s degree at a UK university.

PhD Scholarships (for least developed countries and fragile states)

The phD scholarship is exclusive to the least developed common wealth countries. The major aim is for purposes of receipt of Official Development Assistance (ODA). The CSC offers scholarship to those they deem considerable in the countries labeled as developing and fragile. They are consist of these countries;

The Gambia
Sierra Leone
Solomon Islands

Commonwealth Split-site Scholarships (for low and middle income countries)

Commonwealth Split-site Scholarships are for PhD candidates from common wealth countries that are classified under the low and middle income countries. Candidates are required to stay for 12 months at an eligible UK university as part of their doctoral studies in their home country.

How To Apply For The Common Wealth Scholarship 2020

Applying for the common wealth scholarship is the first step toward studying at the UK. First of all you need to visit the portal.

Click on Apply – You will directed to a page where you select your country of origin. Select and click on search

You will land on a page where you will see all the types of scholarship eligible for your region. Select the most appropriate scholarship type based on the level of education candidates want to pursue.

Follow the instructions on How to apply and read the terms and conditions.

NOTE: The CSC does not accept direct scholarships application. They list contacts that award scholarship in the region you are applying.


Who is Eligible To Apply?

To apply for the common wealth scholarship you have to check the following;

  • Be a citizen, permanent resident or has a refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country
  • Candidate(s) must hold a first degree, second class upper or second class lower
  • Candidate (s) unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship
  • Provide all supporting documentation in the required format

Commonwealth scholarship benefits?

Commonwealth Scholarships are funded by the CSC, it comes with many benefits which include but are not limited to;

Tuition Fees
Books Allowance
Accommodation fees
Feeding Allowance
VISA and Travel fees
Other miscellaneous expenses

When does the Scholarship start & ends?

There is no fixed date for when the scholarship starts but due to past opening dates. The scholarship should be open for application in the first or mid quarter of the year. It usually ends in the 4 quarter.


Finally, the common wealth scholarship program perhaps is the most complete scholarship program that covers almost all class of studies from undergraduate to pH.D.

For more inquiries you can directly make contact through the common wealth official scholarship page. You can also drop your questions down in the comment box, we will get back to you as soon as we can.